Last Updated: Sun Oct 17, 2010 12:34 pm (KSA) 09:34 am (GMT)

UAE says no Blackberry suspension on Oct. 11

The UAE had planned to suspend Blackberry services on Oct. 11
The UAE had planned to suspend Blackberry services on Oct. 11

The United Arab Emirates will not suspend Blackberry services on Oct. 11 as it had said it would do in a dispute over legal access to data, the state news agency reported on Friday.


"The Telecommunications Regulatory Authority (TRA) has confirmed that Blackberry services are now compliant with the UAE's telecommunications regulatory framework," a statement on WAM said.


"Therefore all Blackberry services in the UAE will continue to operate as normal and no suspension of service will occur on Oct.11, 2010," it said.


The UAE said in late August that from Oct.11 it would block BlackBerry messenger, web browsing and email services because they "allow individuals to commit violations" that cannot be monitored.


A TRA official had said earlier this week that the decision to suspend the services was "final."


However, "we remain open to discussions in order that an acceptable, regulatory-compliant solution might be developed and applied," the official told AFP at the time.


Since the TRA announced it was planning the ban, the market for BlackBerry handsets has come to a standstill in the oil-rich Gulf state, where there are some 500,000 savvy users.


BlackBerry has faced similar snags in Saudi Arabia and India, where the authorities fear heavy encryption makes BlackBerry convenient for terrorists to use without being detected.

Mario Vargas Llosa

His works build on his experiences of life in Peru in the late 1940s and the 1950s. Vargos Llosa ran for president of Peru in 1990 but lost to Alberto Fujimori, who ultimately had to flee the country and was subsequently convicted of various crimes.

"He is an outstanding author, and one of the great authors in the Spanish speaking world," said Peter Englund of the Nobel committee.

"He is one of the persons behind the Latin-American literary boom of the '60s and '70s, and he has continued to work and expand."

Vargas Llosa is the first South American winner of the prestigious $1.5 million Nobel Prize in literature since it was awarded to Colombian writer Gabriel Garcia Marquez in 1982.

Born in Arequipa, Peru, Vargas Llosa grew up with his grandparents in Bolivia after his parents divorced, the academy said. The family moved back to Peru in 1946 and he later went to military school before studying literature and law in Lima and Madrid.

In 1959, he moved to Paris where he worked as a language teacher and as a journalist for Agence France-Presse and the national television service of France.

He has lectured and taught at a number of universities in the U.S., South America and Europe. He is teaching this semester at Princeton University in Princeton, N.J.

In 1994 he was elected to the Spanish Academy, where he took his seat in 1996.

Critics say Nobel Prize is European centric

With European novelists dominating recent Nobel literature awards, experts are guessing the Swedish Academy will look farther afield when it announces the 2010 winner on Thursday.

South Korean poet Ko Un and Syria's Adonis are generating the most buzz among Swedish Nobel watchers, while betting agencies are giving lower odds to Ngugi wa Thiong'o of Kenya and American novelist Cormac McCarthy.

The secretive academy doesn't give any hints. All permanent secretary Peter Englund would say is that the 16-member panel had already selected a winner last week, though the formal vote would be made on Thursday.

Five Europeans and one Turk have received the prestigious prize in the past six years. All were primarily novelists except playwright Harold Pinter, who won in 2005.

Englund's predecessor Horace Engdahl sparked outrage in U.S. literature circles two years ago when he dismissed American writers as "too sensitive to trends in their own mass culture."

It has also been accused of having a political bias, favoring left-leaning writers, which Englund rejected.

"I would say that the academy in its work is free of political bias," he added. "I would say also that that is not possible because you can find very different political views inside the academy."

Englund, who replaced Engdahl as the academy's permanent secretary last year, acknowledged that the panel has made some errors in previous picks.

"There were some prizes that went wrong, there were a number of people that the academy missed," Englund said. "This is not the Vatican of literature, we are not infallible in that way."

Englund declined to name the prizes that he believed went wrong, but said it was a mistake to not give the prize to Danish author Karen Blixen, also known by her pen name, Isak Dinesen, wrote "Out of Africa" about her life in Kenya in the early 1930's.

Other famous writers who didn't get the prize include Leo Tolstoy, Marcel Proust, James Joyce and Graham Greene.

The academy has selected the winner of the Nobel Prize in literature since 1901, in line with the wishes of Alfred Nobel, the Swedish industrialist and inventor of dynamite who established the Nobel Prizes in his 1895 will.

Comments »

Post Your Comment »

Social Media »